Tim Tam Slam

For some reading this the above title will hold no mystery, but for me I was completely clueless until today. In fact, until I won a packet of Tim Tams in the Australian hamper at the Christmas Fayre I hadn’t even heard of these iconic Ozzie biscuits. Considering there are a considerable number of Australians living on my compound, a few of whom we are very friendly with and one is the secretary at the school where I work, I’m quite amazed how long I’ve been oblivious to their existence. Seemingly, every Brit that encounters them immediately insists they’re just like the UK Penguin biscuit.

Just like a Penguin biscuit?

Just like a Penguin biscuit?

The Australians then protest- ‘you can’t do a Tim Tam Slam’ with a Penguin’!  When our secretary said this a few days ago we all looked at her blankly- even the 4 teachers who had been to Australia to visit friends and family. Obviously, we needed educating!

This morning a packet of TimTams appeared at Tea Break time and we were introduced to the phenomenon known as the Tim Tam Slam. Rather than go into some long confusing description take a look at Graham Norton being introduced to it by Natalie Imbruglia.

I was amazed to notice that this interview was from 2006! being an ex-pat theres always a lot you miss from home, although now with satellite TV and internet i dont feel as out of touch as i used to.

I can’t say I mastered the technique but at least I didn’t end up with chocolate all over my white blouse!  However, I don’t think I’ll become a regular ‘slammer’, as I enjoy savouring my biscuits in numerous bites. As for if you can do a slam with Penguin- let me know the next time you have one. Here in Saudi we can’t buy them so we’re awaiting the next member of staff going to Britain to bring back  enough Penguins so we can give it a try!

Leave a comment